Wednesday, April 24, 2013

First Chapter Review: A Man of Indeterminate Value by Ron Felber

A Man of Indeterminate Value is a thriller by Ron Felber. This book is due to be released in June and is now available for pre-order. The first chapter was submitted by his publicist. Felber's book, Il Dottore is the basis for the FOX TV series The Mob Doctor.

BLURB:  In a world plagued by corrupt corporations and sinister forces that prowl the global landscape, John "Jack" Madson seeks salvation from deep within the man he is today and the man he aspires to be.

In the tradition of Raymond Chandler, John Grisham, and Michael Connelly, this crime fiction series launches with three noir thrillers bristling with authenticity, insight, and social commentary. From the boardrooms of Wall Street, to the steamy backstreets of Bangkok, to the secret Triads of Shanghai, award-winning author Ron Felber, originator of the FOX television series The Mob Doctor, takes his reader into the violent, surreal, and sex-crazed underbelly of 21st century America, the "empire in decline."

Witty, riveting, and diabolically clever, the heart-pounding pace, exotic locales, and unforgettable characters make the "Jack Madson" series a welcomed innovation within the genre of crime fiction.

A Man of Indeterminate Value (Book 1), introduces ex-cop Jack Madson as a disgraced Wall Street take-over artist and target of a failed suicide scam that leaves him the "most wanted" man in the Garden State of NJ. Madson is on a personal mission to take on corporate forces hell-bent on his destruction as they seek to IPO game-changing bio-medical technology to the Street worth hundreds of billions of dollars.

COVER: Dark, mysterious, edgy--everything a book in this genre should be. I like the contrast of the bold red text against the black cover. The hardened face of the man speaks to what the main character is up against and what he personally has at stake. Fabulous cover!

FIRST CHAPTER:  A cab parks opposite the Benedictine Brothers monastery in Newark’s Central Ward. Slipping the driver two large bills, Jack Madson says, "You never saw me." A wounded Jack climbs the steps of the monastery and rings the bell. When the door opens, he is face to face with Father Jeremiah, his former teacher.

KEEP READING: One difference between a good writer and a great writer is how much they can say in the span of a few words. Though I've read nothing else by Felber, I already see a masterful storyteller. In under 400 words, the author provides action, suspense, mystery, and a bit of backstory for his main character, Jack Madson. His tight writing is edgy and crisp. The few details speak volumes about who Jack is and why he's arrived at the monastery. A Man of Indeterminate Value looks like it will be a fabulous read. I'm immediately adding it to my wish list.

Paperback: 288 pages
Publisher: Barricade Books (June 16, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1569804907
ISBN-13: 978-1569804902

I received this first chapter from Jane Wesman Public Relations, Inc. This review contains my honest opinions, for which I have not been compensated in any way.

No comments: