Wednesday, April 25, 2012

First Chapter Review: Healing Music by Carolyn Huebner Rankin

Here's another book I've been dying to read. I reviewed Falling Through Ice last July, so when this book by the same author was offered to me, I jumped at the chance.

TITLE/AUTHOR:  Healing Music by Carolyn Huebner Rankin

BLURB:  Healing Music is the story of Carolyn Rankin's healing journey through the crippling effect of Degenerative Bone Disease. After years of pain, loss of mobility, and hopeless diagnosis Carolyn experienced restorative correction and healing at the hands of God and some very skilled and special physicians. During her recovery and rehabilitation she also experienced something quite supernatural and unexpected; Healing Music from heavenly sources.

COVER: Nice. Simple. It like the color scheme.

FIRST CHAPTER: The book opens with Carolyn's visit to Dr. Paul Hansen, where he breaks the terrifying news that she has Degenerative Bone Disease and most likely will be in a wheelchair in less than 10 years. She had just turned 28.

The story then moves backwards in time to what led her to seek out Dr. Hansen's help in the first place: extreme pain that was so crippling she often couldn't move for days.

KEEP READING:  Yes. First of all because I am interested in what happened in Rankin's life after reading Falling Through Ice, but also because the author creates a page-turning story right from the beginning. The reader can imagine how devastating the news was to Rankin when the diagnosis came at such a young age. The doctor leaves her with little hope, and it's obvious from the incidents that happen prior to the diagnosis that she has a serious condition. I'll definitely be picking this one up again in the future.

  • Paperback: 120 pages
  • Publisher: Crossover Publications, LLC (August 15, 2010)
  • ISBN-10: 098196575X
  • ISBN-13: 978-0981965758
  • SRP:  $12.95

  • I received a FREE copy of this book from the author's representative in exchange for my honest opinion. I received no monetary compensation of any kind for this review. A full review will follow in the future.

    No comments: